Certification of Italian as a Foreign Language



Certification of Italian as a Foreign Language


The name of the test in original is Certificazione di Italiano come Lingua Straniera or in abbreviation CILS. This is the equivalent to DELE in Spanish or Test DaF in German. This test is organized and issued by Università per Stranieri di Siena (University for Foreigners of Siena). This test recognizes various levels of proficiency in Italian (Uno, Due, Tre, Quattro) corresponding to levels B2-C1 identified by the Common European Framework of Reference. This test focuses on speaking, reading, writing and listening. Applicants must pay a registration fee for the exam. You can take the exam in Institutes of Italian Culture or other certified institutions.


Who is CILS for?

CILS is aimed at people who study Italian, people who want to work or study in Italy and people who want to measure their knowledge of the languages. Passing CILS can help you get into any university in Italy and is often required as a verification language proficiency. Many companies in Italy which wish to employ foreigners require the possession of a CILS certificate. This test can be taken be candidates of all ages.


CILS test format

This test is composed of five sections including reading comprehension, listening comprehension, analyses of the structures of communication, writing skills and speaking skills. Each of these sections is scored with a maximum of 20 points and the total number of points for the whole test is 100 points. The lowest score to pass on each level is 55 points. The duration of the test on level Uno lasts 3 hours, level Due 4 hours and on levels Tre and Quattro 5 hours.



Source: Università per Stranieri di Siena


Learn Italian at these schools and take CILS.


Follow us on Facebook and Twitter and don’t miss another article on CourseFinders.com

Find your perfect language school Search CourseFinders to find the course for you